The second Stephen King book I chose to read was The Eyes of the Dragon. I started reading this a few years ago for a sponsored reading challenge I was trying to do. I think I was probably a bit young to appreciate Stephen King’s writing, so I didn’t actually make it past a third of the way in. Now that I am older, and have read and loved a few of his other books, I decided I would give it another try. This is what the blurb says:

The passage through the castle is dim and deep, sensed by few and walked by only one. Flagg knows it well. In four hundred years he has walked it many times, in many guises, but now the passage serves its true purpose. Through the spyhole it conceals, the court magician observes King Roland. The king is old and weak, yet still a king. But his time is nearly over.

Young Prince Peter, tall and handsome, the measure of a king in all ways, stands to inherit the realm. But a tiny mouse is enough to bring him down, a mouse that chanced upon a grain of Dragon Sand behind Peter’s shelves and dies crying tears of fire and belching grey smoke. A mouse that dies as King Roland does. Flagg saw it all and smiled, for now Prince Thomas, a young boy easily swayed to Flagg’s own purposes, would rule the kingdom. But Thomas has a secret that even Flagg cannot guess, a secret that has turned his days into nightmares and his nights into prayed-for oblivion. The last bastion of hope lies at the top of the needle, the royal prison where Peter plans a daring escape.

Imprisoned in innocence, he requires only the most innocent of tools: a child’s dollhouse and an object rarely used in Delain, a table napkin. But Flagg’s words echo in Peter’s mind: ‘I’ll carry your head on my saddle-horn for a thousand years. Here I come, Peter! Coming for your head!’

I really enjoyed reading this book. It isn’t like any of the others of his books I have read. Instead of his classic horror genres, this book is more like a modern, grown-up twist on a fairytale. I really liked the characters, and although it didn’t seem like a whole lot was happening at the time, as I was reading it, I found I couldn’t put it down, I just wanted to know more. The version I have has really nice pictures in it too, which is always a bonus. It didn’t take me very long to read it. In fact, it has taken me longer to write this review, and I am almost halfway through the next book! Never mind.

All in all I thought this was a great book, and I am really glad I decided to give it another shot. It was totally worth reading and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to try out Stephen King, but doesn’t want to be completely freaked out. Or am I just scared too easily?

The next book I am reading is The Dark Half.

