After completing the 30 Day Song Challenge, a combination of being in Barcelona (more about that in another post), being busy, and generally not knowing what to post, has caused a lack in posting on my part. I thought I would change that by writing my first 2011 Stephen King Challenge post.

The first book I chose to read was Carrie. I watched the film around the same time I saw Misery because it came in the same box set. I thought the film was great, so I wanted to read the book. Now Carrie was actually one that wasn’t in my mum’s collection, but luckily I found it for 99p in a local charity shop. Liberty very kindly bought it for me, as I didn’t have any money on me.

The blurb on the back of the book says:

Carrie White is no ordinary girl.

Carrie White has a gift – the gift of telekinesis.

To be invited to Prom Night by Tommy Ross is a dream come true for Carrie – the first step towards social acceptance by her high school colleagues.

But events will take a decidedly macabre turn on that horrifying and endless night as she is forced to exercise her terrible gift on the town that mocks and loathes her.

I thought this book was great. It plays out almost exactly how it does in the film, so there wasn’t a lot to surprise me, but I did like that between the main story line, there were extracts from future articles that try to explain the whole event. It was a nice way of breaking up the narration. This book was easy to read, not particularly long, and I didn’t want to put it down. As a result of this, it only took me a few days to read. I really enjoyed the story, and could sympathise with the main character, Carrie, even when she went on a rampage around the town! You get a really good idea of what the characters are like, and can picture the whole thing very easily, although that may only be because I’ve seen the film…

All in all, I thought it was a brilliant book. Simple as.

The next Stephen King I’m tackling is The Eyes of the Dragon.

