I’m not normally one for horror. I get scared way too easily, and it stays with me for far too long afterwards. However, I do love a good book, and for some reason, the fact that Stephen King writes horrors doesn’t seem to bother me. My mum loves Stephen King, and for as long as I can remember we have had a massive collection of his books on our shelves.

Last year I decided to watch It. I’m not sure what drove me to it, probably Tim Curry, but I actually really enjoyed it, and it made me want to read the book. Now It probably wasn’t the best book to start with, as our version has 912 pages… However, it didn’t put me off, and I really enjoyed reading It. I guess watching the film first helped a bit, but there’s nothing wrong with that. Something I like a lot about Stephen King is that, of the ones I’ve seen and read, the stories work well as both films and books. One of my all time favourite books and films is Misery.

I always love reading, and I’m looking forward to making my way through my mum’s Stephen King collection. That is why I am going to participate in the 2011 Stephen King Challenge hosted here. I am going to aim for reading 12 books, and attempt to review them as and when I finish one. I’m not really great at reviews, but hey ho!

Check out the challenge. I can recommend Stephen King as a good read. 🙂

